What is Erasmus+?

Erasmus+ is a programme implemented by the European Union for between 2021 and 2027, aiming to provide individuals, regardless of age and educational background, with new skills, strengthen their personal development, and increase their employment opportunities. It is a grant programme in the fields of education, youth, and sports, supporting activities such as education abroad, teaching, internships, professional development, and youth activities based on non-formal learning.

The main reason for naming it the Erasmus+ Programme is to capitalize on the familiarity of the previous Erasmus programme, which is more widely recognized by the public and strongly associated with education abroad and European cooperation.

What Changes Does the Erasmus+ Program Bring?

When looking at the basic goals and activities, the Erasmus+ Programme does not differ significantly from the existing programme. However, some changes are envisaged to enhance the effectiveness of the current programme, make it more easily applicable, and give it a simpler structure. The innovations brought by the Erasmus+ Programme can be listed as follows:

  • The previous programmes, such as Comenius, Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Grundtvig under the Lifelong Learning Programmes, and the Youth Programme, along with 5 international cooperation programmes (Erasmus Mundus, Tempus, Alfa, Edulink, and Cooperation with Industrialized Countries), are included under the Erasmus+ Programme. The fragmented structure and redundancies are eliminated, and a simpler application process is introduced.
  • A guarantee funding scheme is implemented to support graduate students in continuing their education abroad and acquiring the skills needed to work in knowledge-intensive jobs.
  • The Bilateral Cooperation in the field of Higher Education, which was implemented in the previous period, including industrialized countries, continues to exist among the central projects of the Erasmus+ Programme, now also covering the field of youth. However, the scope of countries that can cooperate is expanding. (For detailed information about countries eligible for cooperation, please refer to the Erasmus+ Programme Guide.)
  • New teaching methods are introduced, providing opportunities for large-scale partnerships (Knowledge Alliances) to increase creativity, innovation, and entrepreneurship between higher education institutions and workplaces, and partnerships (Sector Skills Alliances) among education and training institutions to increase employability through innovative vocational education and training methods.
  • Mobility and partnership opportunities are significantly strengthened in the new period, and grant opportunities are increased, especially for higher education/vocational education students, teachers, trainers, and youth workers.

Which Areas Does the Erasmus+ Programme Support?

Activities supported under the Erasmus+ Programme are mainly grouped under 3 Key Actions and 2 Special Actions:

Key Action 1: Learning Mobility of Individuals

Key Action 2: Cooperation for Innovation and the Exchange of Good Practices

Key Action 3: Support to Policy Development


Special Action1: Sports Supports

Special Action2: Jean Monnet Programme

Which Countries Are Included in the Erasmus+ Programme?

With the Erasmus+ Programme, the number and geography of countries with which cooperation will be established are expanding. Accordingly, while it may vary for each type of activity, cooperation may be possible with the following countries:

  • 28 EU member countries: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Republic of Cyprus, Croatia, Netherlands, United Kingdom, Ireland, Spain, Sweden, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Greece
  • Non-EU programme countries: Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, North Macedonia, and Türkiye
  • Third countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Serbia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Russia, Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, and Tunisia

Partnerships with other world countries may also be established for some central projects.

For detailed information about Erasmus+, you can visit

To view completed projects and project outputs, you can visit


Gebze Teknik Üniversitesi Uluslararası İlişkiler Koordinatörlüğü

Gebze Teknik Üniversitesi, Uluslararası İlişkiler Koordinatörlüğü, 41400 Gebze/Türkiye

Kep Adres:

PIC: 94952504

OID: E10098910

E-Mail Adreslerimiz

Uluslararası İlişkiler Koordinatörlüğü :

Uluslararası İşbirliği Ofisi :

Uluslararası Değişim Programları Ofisi :

Uluslararası Projeler Ofisi :

Telefon Numaralarımız

Uluslararası İşbirliği Ofisi :
+90 (262) 605 12 03

Uluslararası Değişim Programları Ofisi :
+90 (262) 605 15 51 77

Uluslararası Projeler Ofisi :
+90 (262) 605 12 15 22

Copyright © 2024 Gebze Teknik Üniversitesi Uluslararası İlişkiler Koordinatörlüğü | Tüm hakları saklıdır.